Book Review

Sunny Shelly’s Review: The Bookseller of Dachau, by Shari J. Ryan


THE BOOKSELLER OF DACHAU
by Shari J. Ryan


Release Blitz


Release Date: October 29, 2021


Genre: Historical Fiction

Trope: World War II



Synopsis

Germany, 1940: “Can’t I say goodbye?” I shout, cupping my hands over my mouth. The Nazis dragging him away stare at me, soldiers with icy glares. No. No, no, no, they can’t make him leave.

In Nazi Germany, innocent people vanish every day, torn mercilessly from their homes and loved ones. When Matilda’s childhood sweetheart Hans is in danger, she doesn’t hesitate to hide him in her attic. Neighbors their whole lives, and desperately in love with one another, she’ll do anything to protect him. For months, they exist by candlelight, smuggling food and communicating in whispers. But, in the end, nothing can stop the soldiers charging in…

America, 2018: Grace opens a mustard-yellow envelope, and her world unravels. She has inherited a bookstore in the small town of Dachau from the grandmother she had no idea existed. Her mom, adopted as a baby, spent her life searching for her biological parents––and died without ever knowing.

Grace visits her legacy––a bookshop on a cobbled lane filled with lost memories. She combs through handwritten letters, unearthing the story of her grandmother Matilda. A woman whose one true love was locked within the barbed wire of Dachau––a woman who never gave up hope…

As Grace pieces together her family’s heartbreaking past, she discovers the long-buried secret of her own identity. But when she learns the truth, will she ever be the same again?

This heart-wrenching yet hopeful tale will restore your faith in humanity, and in the power of love to triumph over evil. Fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, Orphan Train and Kristin Hannah will be blown away by this breathtakingly gripping page-turner.




Add to your TBR List!

GOODREADS LINK

Purchase Link



Amazon Universal ~



https://geni.us/BQTF




Giveaway


$25 Amazon Gift Card

a Rafflecopter Giveaway


ENTER HERE


Sunny Shelly’s Review: 5 Stars

I have read Shari Ryan’s contemporary romance novels as well as her historical fiction novels — and I am blown away every time. In all honesty, I am not a fan of historical fiction but I have read each one of Shari’s and The Bookseller of Dachau has to be one of my favorites so far. It is poignant, emotional, heartbreaking, and inspiring all at the same time.

Told in a dual timeline, The Bookseller begins with Grace (in 2018) discovering that she has inherited a property in Dachau from the grandmother she never knew of because her own mother had come to the US as an orphaned infant. In the second timeline, Matilda risks the safety of her family and her best friend to hide Hans from the Nazi soldiers who have taken over the city during the 1940s. The chapters alternate beautifully as Grace learns about her ancestry from Archie, who runs her late grandmother’s store. As they build a wonderful friendship in modern-day times, Tilly and Hans are clinging to their hopes for the future in the fearful world of years ago.

I don’t want to spill any details about this book. I mean, it is set during Nazi-run Germany, so you can imagine what much of Tilly and Hans’ storyline is about. Shari Ryan has penned a beautiful story in the one of the most heartbreaking moments of history.

The Bookseller of Dachau is a story that you won’t soon forget.

I received an advanced copy and voluntarily left a review.


About the Author


Shari J. Ryan is USA Today bestselling author. She lives in Massachusetts with her wicked awesome husband, and two wild sons who fill her life with non-stop comedy.

With a life full of love, writing, drawing, TV binging, reading, and Starbucks, Shari is living her best life.



Connect with Shari

Website:


https://www.sharijryan.com

Newsletter Sign Up:


https://bit.ly/3BmjHb9

Facebook Author Page:


http://bit.ly/2tXGvzH

Facebook Reader Group:


https://bit.ly/3nAgq2X

Goodreads Author Page:


http://bit.ly/2tXsJgp

Twitter:


http://bit.ly/2sSAq2u

Instagram:


https://bit.ly/3nG3FEe

Pinterest:


http://bit.ly/3tG97YV

Amazon Author Page:


http://amzn.to/2sLOZto

Bookbub Author Page:


http://bit.ly/2xYClpP


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s